What does the automation of professional writing tell us about the future of creativity?

Hello writers!

First, thank you so much for reading. Our community of writers and creatives grew by more than 100% last week! Sure, that was from 8 subscribers to 22 but…

Anyway, here’s a quick recap of some of the techniques covered last week, in case you missed it:

This week: I want to talk to you about an issue that is near and dear to me these days: Storytelling robots!

robots 2 email list
Meet Wally and Pauly, the helper robots that automate my email list.

Yes, that’s right, they’re here. And they’re set to change the landscape of writing forever.

These are the conversations I’m starting this week:

  1. Tomorrow morning, I’ll post my reflections on Wired’s latest feature, “What Happens When an Algorithm Helps Write Science Fiction?” and raise the question: how would you feel if you found out a story you love was written by a computer program?

 

2.  On Thursday morning, I’ll be posting about the Associated Press’s latest study on the role of journalists in an automated newsroom. Question being: what type of journalism would you only read from a human journalist?

 

3. On Saturday, I’ll look at an interesting article by the Harvard Business Review on the future of automation in the workforce. This is the question I’m most excited about: what type of work is exclusive to humans? And how do we get better at that work??

Please read and comment! I’m excited to hear and learn from you.

Also, sign up for my email list! I’ll be sending some exclusive free content there soon.

See you tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. It tells me that we have given up. Im blown the fuck away on this. I guess the next step is to let the robots have sex for us to???? Damn thanks for this post and sharing your HUMAN words! I look for motivation to inspire me to finish a major painting and couldn’t get moving. I like to check out blogs to push me sometimes. Thanks for being an example of the human in action and movement I was looking for to complete my work! I will be sharing this and figuring out how I can support and inspire human creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for commenting, Warren! I think automation can really push creatives to think about the things that are most human about the work we do. Tune in through the week.
      And good luck with your painting

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment